Top 19 Chungcheongbukdo Attractions You must Visit

In this article, we will share to you best things to do in chungcheongbukdo region in south korea. If you plan to visit Korea in the future, make sure you read this article to the end and visit each one of them.

North Chungcheong Province, also known as Chungbuk, is a province of South Korea. North Chungcheong has a population of 1,578,934 and has a geographic area of 7,433 km² located in the Hoseo region in the south-center of the Korean Peninsula.

Chungcheongbukdo History

Chungbuk once belonged to the land of Mahan.
The Baekje Kingdom occupied the central part of Korea which includes Cheongju and Boeun, the Silla Kingdom occupied the southern part of Korea which includes Yeongdong, Okcheon, and Boeun, and the Goguryeo Kingdom occupied the northeastern part of Korea which includes Jecheon, Danyang, Chungju, Goesan, and Jincheon. During the 4th century, the Baekje Kingdom occupied the entire area of Chungcheongbuk-do province.

During the 14th year of King Seongjong’s reign, the Korean Peninsula was sectioned into 10 provinces. The main province was called Jungwon-do and controlled 13 gun and 42 hyeon. During the 4th year of King Taejo’s reign, gun and hyeon belonging to Yanggwang-ju were included in Gyeonggi-do. Gun and hyeon belonging to Chungju, Cheongju, Gongju, and Hongju were combined and established as Chungcheong-do. The governing office was located in Chungju. After Cheongju-eup was elevated to bu, the province was reorganized into 1 bu, 10 gun, and 102 myeon.

Best Things to do in Chungcheongbukdo

  • Cheongju Sangdansanseong Fortress
  • Gosu Cave
  • Boeun Samnyeon Sanseong Fortress
  • Cheongpung Cultural Heritage Complex
  • Cheongju National Museum
  • Cheongju Early Printing Museum
  • Jincheon Bell Museum
  • Cheongnamdae Presidential Villa
  • Woraksan National Park
  • Dodamsambong Peaks
  • Uirimji Lake
  • Ondal Gwangwangji
  • Danyang Mancheonha Skywalk
  • Old Sanmaki Trail
  • Eight Scenic Views of Danyang
  • Danuri Aquarium
  • Aqua World
  • Guinsa Temple
  • Beopjusa Temple

Cheongju Sangdansanseong Fortress

Image by Wikimedia Commons

Sangdangsanseong Fortress in Cheongju, Chungcheongbuk-do is a fortress built along the natural slopes close to downtown Cheongju. It was comprehensively improved in 1596 (29th year of King Seonjo’s reign) during Imjinwaeran (Japanese invasion of Korea in 1592) and later remodeled into a stone fortress during the 42nd year of King Sukjong’s reign.

This 4.2km-long, 3-4m-tall fortress was built with stones of various sizes, earth and sand. The fortress has three gates, located in the east, west and south respectively. The three gates remain almost intact, and all still have their gate towers. The front gate in the south, named ‘Gongnammun Gate,’ is crescent-shaped while the East and West gates are square. The East and West Command Posts also stand within the confines of the fortress itself. This fortress was designated as Historic Site No. 212 in 1970. Additionally, visitors can sample Jujube Wine (Korean traditional wine) as well as a variety of local cuisine.

Useful Informations

  • Address: Sangdang-gu, Cheongju-si, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 청주시 상당구 (산성동)
  • Phone: +82-43-201-0202
  • Homepage: www.cheongju.go.kr 

How to get here:
By [Bus]
From Cheongju Intercity/Express Bus Terminal, take Bus No. 717, 824, 832 or 913 and get off at Sajik Sageori Bus Stop.
Transfer to Bus No. 862 and get off at Sangdangsanseong Fortress Bus Stop.

Gosu Cave

Designated as a natural monument, Gosudonggul Cave is a limestone cave situated in Danyang-gun, well known for its mystery and beauty. The cave is roughly 1,700 meter-long and features stalactites, stalgmites, undgerground lakes, cave pearls, and other cave formations. Gosudonggul Cave is also home to rare formations such as aragonite. Other unique features are the many rocks with interesting names, such as Lion Rock, Dodamsambong Rock, Virgin Mary Rock, and Love Rock. The cave is a valuable resource for researchers and educators.

Useful Informations

  • Operating Hours
    April-October 09:00-17:30
    November-March 09:00-17:00
  • Admission Fees
    [Individual]
    Adults 11,000 won / Teenagers 7,000 / Children 5,000 won
  • Address: 8, Gosudonggul-gil, Danyang-eup, Danyang-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 단양군 단양읍 고수동굴길 8
  • Phone: +82-43-422-3072
  • Homepage: www.gosucave.co.kr

How to get here:
By [Express/Intercity Bus]
Take a bus from Dong Seoul Bus Terminal to Danyang.

[Bus]
From Danyang Bus Terminal, take Bus No. 170 to Gosudonggul Cave.

Boeun Samnyeonsanseong Fortress

Image by Daniel Kane through Wikipedia

Samnyeongsanseong Fortress was built during the Silla dynasty. The sprawling stone walls stretch 1.7 kilometers in length with heights and widths of 13-20 and 8-10 meters respectively. The name of the fortress comes from the time it took to complete the construction, three years (“sam nyeon” in Korean). The fortress was the site of many battles between Silla and Baekje during the Three Kingdoms Period.

Useful Informations

  • Address: Eoam-ri, Boeun-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 보은군 보은읍 어암리
  • Phone: +82-43-540-3406
  • Homepage: www.tourboeun.go.kr 

How to get here:
By [Bus]
Take a bus to Boeun Intercity Bus Terminal.

[Taxi]
Approx. 5 min from Boeun Intercity Bus Terminal.

Cheongpung Cultural Heritage Fortress

Image by Steve46814 through Wikipedia

Cheongpung Cultural Heritage Complex in Jecheon, Chungcheongbuk-do contains a variety of cultural heritages and artifacts that were collected from the region before it was flooded in 1985 during the construction of Chungju Dam. Here, visitors can see Hanbyeongnu Pavilion (Treasure No. 528), Stone Standing Buddha (Treasure No. 546), Paryeongnu Pavilion, Geumnamnu Pavilion, Geumbyeongheon Hall, Eungcheonggak Pavilion and the Cheongpunghyanggyo Local Confucian School as well as nearly 2,000 household artifacts. It has become an outdoor museum of the glorious culture of the upper reaches of the Namhangang River.

Useful Informations

  • Operating Hours
    March-October 09:00-18:00
    November-February 09:00-17:00
    * Last admission 1 hr before closing
  • Admission Fees
    Individuals – Adults 3,000 won / Teenagers 2,000 won / Children 1,000 won
    Groups – Adults 2,500 won / Teenagers 1,500 won / Children 800 won
  • Address: 2048, Cheongpungho-ro, Jecheon-si, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 제천시 청풍면 청풍호로 2048
  • Phone: +82-43-641-5532

How to get here:
By [Bus + Taxi]
From Dong Seoul Terminal, take a bus to Jecheon Bus Terminal.
From Jecheon Bus Terminal, take a taxi for approx. 45 min.

Cheongju National Museum

Image by Cheongju Museum

Cheongju National Museum collects and preserves national cultural treasures. The first thing to do when you enter the museum is to obtain various pamphlets at the information desk, from which you can get a lot of information on the museum. The Sangseol Exhibit is the most important place in the Cheongju National Museum. Here you will mainly see displays of artifacts discovered in and around the Chungcheongbuk-do area. In the first division of the exhibit, the Seonsa Room, you can see treasures from the Guseok Period, Sinseok Period, and Cheongdong Period. In the second division, the Samhan-Samguk Room, various artifacts from the houses and tombs of the Samhan and Samguk Periods are displayed. In the Unified Silla-Goryeo (918~1392) Room are displayed the clay pottery, metallic pottery, and gold artifacts used in daily life or related to Buddhism from the Silla and Goryeo Periods. In the fourth Joseon-Go Print Room, you can see the treasures discovered in Chungcheongbuk-do area from the Joseon Period (1392~1910), such as Buncheongsagi and Baekja ceramics. The most carefully decorated room in the Sangseol exhibit is the Children’s Exhibit. It was built to let children experience and learn the culture of Korea’s past. It is also a very helpful place for foreigners who do not know the folk culture of Korea. You can experience first-hand various traditional Korean sounds, such as Dadeumi sound. You can also see a traditional Korean wedding and funeral with all their associated customs in small miniature models. The funeral service shows “sangyeo”, which is not generally known to foreigners. Sangyeo was a device used to carry dead people to their graves. All the miniature models are very detailed and very charming. Besides these, you can try wooden mask printing and the Takbon, as well as tools used by people in the past in the Learning Room. You can try creating clay pottery here as well.

Useful Informations

  • Operating Hours
    Tuesday-Friday 10:00-18:00
    Saturday (April-October) 10:00-21:00
    Saturday (January-March, November-December), Sunday & Public Holidays 10:00-19:00
    * Last Wednesday of every month 10:00-19:00
    Closed on New Year’s Day, Mondays (If Monday is holiday, it closes on the following Tuesday), the Day of Seollal (Lunar New Year’s Day) & Chuseok (Korean Thanksgiving Day)
  • Address: 143, Myeongam-ro, Sangdang-gu, Cheongju-si, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 청주시 상당구 명암로 143 (명암동)
  • Phone: +82-43-229-6300
  • Homepage: cheongju.museum.go.kr

How to get here:
By [Bus]
From Cheongju Intercity Bus Terminal, take Bus No.821, 822-1, 826 towards Sinae and get off at Docheong Bus Stop.
Transfer to Bus No.861 or 862 and get off at the Cheongju National Museum Bus Stop.

Cheongju Early Printing Museum

Image by Kristincato

This early printing museum, located on the site of Heungdeoksa Temple in which Jikji, the world’s oldest extant book, printed by movable metal type, was printed, was founded on March 17, 1992. Since the technology’s inception, Korea has substantially developed its metal-type printing methods. In this museum, approximately 650 artifacts including ancient movable metal and wooden print books from the Goryeo and Joseon periods, relics from the Heungdeoksaji Temple site (흥덕사지) and printing tools are on display. Here, visitors can learn about the history of the Korean printing technologies and culture.

In addition to exhibition, the museum has been promoted to hold the Cheongju International Printing & Publishing Fair, to study early printing culture and printing types and to publish museum journals and early printing-related papers.

Useful Informations

  • Operating Hours
    09:00 – 18:00
    Admission is available until one hour before closing time.
    Closed on Mondays, New year’s day, Lunar new year’s day and Chuseok
  • Admission / Participation Fees
    * Adults 800 won / Group 600 won
    * Youths 600 won / Group 400 won
    * Children 400 won / Group Free
  • Address: 713, Jikji-daero, Heungdeok-gu, Cheongju-si, Chungcheongbuk-do
  • Phone: +82-43-201-4266
  • Homepage: Jikji World

How to get here:
By [Bus]
– Take the bus to Cheongju at Dong Seoul Terminal (Departure 8 times a day (06:50-09:10), 1 hour and 30 minute ride)
– Board the bus (No. 831, 831-1) at Cheongju Bus Terminal and get off at Cheongju Arts Center (Cheongju Early Printing Museum across from Cheongju Arts Center)
– Board the bus (No. 747) to Gagyeong-dong Bus Terminal at Cheongju International Airport and get off Cheongju Gym (15 minutes on foot / basic rate distance for taxis)

Jincheon Bell Museum

Image by jo sw through Pinterest

The Jincheon Bell Museum opened in 2005 with the objective of promoting the unique artistic value of Korean bells. The museum’s location itself is also very meaningful, as Jincheon is home to the oldest steel production site in Korea. In the nearby area, Uncheon-dong, Beomjong (a temple bell) of the late United Silla Kingdom was discovered along with the remains of the Ongdusaji Cheoldanggan of the Goryeo dynasty.

Useful Informations

  • Operating Hours
    10:00-18:00 (Last admission 1 hr before closing)
    Closed on Mondays, New Year’s Day, Day of Seollal (Lunar New Year’s Day) & Chuseok (Korean Thanksgiving Day)
  • Admission / Participation Fees
    Individuals – Adults 1,500 won / Teenagers 1,000 won / Children 500 won
    Groups – Adults 1,000 won / Teenagers 500 won / Children free
  • Address: 1504-12, Baekgok-ro, Jincheon-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 진천군 진천읍 백곡로 1504-12 (진천읍)
  • Phone: +82-43-539-3847
  • Homepage: www.jincheonbell.net

How to get here:
By [Bus]
From Dong Seoul Bus Terminal, take a bus to Jincheon Bus Terminal.
From Jincheon Bus Terminal Bus Stop take a bus towards Janggwan-ri and get off at the Jincheon Bell Museum Bus Stop.

Cheongnamdae Presidential Villa

Cheongnamdae, which means “Cheong Wa Dae in a warm southern land,” was once a private villa used by former presidents of Korea. Cheongnamdae became open to the public on April 18, 2003. It is located near Daecheong Dam in Cheongwon-gu, Chungcheongbuk-do and was built in 1983. The total area spans 1,825,000m² and consists of a main building, golf range, heliport, and fishing area. The natural environment surrounding the area has been well preserved, serving as a home to wildlife, including over 143 species of wild flowers and 124 species of trees as well as several endangered species.

Useful Informations

  • Operating Hours
    February-November 09:00-18:00
    December-January 09:00-17:00
    * Last admission 1 hr 30 min before closing
  • Admission Fees
    Individuals – Adults 5,000 won / Teenagers 4,000 won / Children & senior citizens 3,000 won
    Groups – Adults 4,000 won / Teenagers 3,000 won / Children & senior citizens 2,000 won
  • Address: 646, Cheongnamdae-gil, Sangdang-gu, Cheongju-si, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 청주시 상당구 문의면 청남대길 646
  • Phone: +82-43-257-5080
  • Homepage: chnam.chungbuk.go.kr

How to get here:
By [Bus]
From Dong Seoul Terminal take an intercity bus to Cheongju Bus Terminal
From Cheongju (Express) Bus Terminal take Bus No. 311 to Munui Bus Stop.
Get tickets at Cheongnamdae Ticket Office in Munui and board the bus to Cheongnamdae.

Woraksan National Park

Image by ttnotes

Woraksan National Park is located along the Baekdudaegan Mountain Range between Sobaeksan and Songnisan Mountains. The rugged mountain is softened by the waterfalls and small ponds found within the valleys. The area was designated as a national park on December 31, 1984. The mountain is surrounded by Chungjuho Lake to the north, the Eight Scenic Views of Danyang and Sobaeksan Mountain to the east, and Mungyeongsaejae Pass and Songnisan Mountain to the south. The main peak of Woraksan National Park is Yeongbong Peak, reaching an altitude of 1,097 meters above sea level. The path there is steep, with sections of rock stretching 150 meters in height. There is also a 4-kilometer-long path circling the base rock.

Useful Informations

  • Address: 1647, Mireuksonggye-ro, Jecheon-si, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 제천시 한수면 미륵송계로 1647
  • Phone: +82-43-653-3250
  • Homepage: worak.knps.or.kr

How to get here:
By [Express/Intercity Bus]
Take a bus from Dong Seoul Bus Terminal to Deokjusa Temple.

Dodamsambong Peaks

Image by Seongbin Im through Wikimedia Commons

Dodamsambong Peaks refer to the three stone peaks rising out of the Namhangang River. The biggest rock is called Janggunbong (Husband Rock), the rock on the left side which appears to be showing coquetry is called Cheopbong (Mistress Rock), and the rock on the right side which is turning away from the big rock is called Cheobong (Wife Rock). The peaks are said to represent an angry wife turning away from her husband who has taken a concubine in order to secure a male heir. It is said that Jeong Do-jeon, a politician who made contributions to the establishment of the Joseon dynasty, spent his young days here and used ‘Sambong’ as his pen name.

Surrounding the three peaks is a musical fountain which was set up in 1998. The fountain serves as a great place for tourists to relax, especially during the nighttime as the fountain water cascade to the music playing in the background.

Useful Informations

  • Operating Hours
    09:00-18:00
  • Address: 644-33, Sambong-ro, Danyang-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 단양군 매포읍 삼봉로 644-33
  • Phone: +82-42-422-3037

How to get here:
By [Taxi]
Approx. 5 min from Danyang Intercity Bus Terminal.

Uirimji Lake

Image by "솔밭공원" through Trip Advisor

Uirimji, originally called Yimji, is a reservoir that was created during the Samhan Era. Due to its long history, it is one of the most famous reservoirs in Chungcheong-do and was designated Monument No. 11 of Chungcheongbuk-do.

The reservoir is 1.8 kilometers in circumference and 151,470 square meters in water surface area and has a water level of 8-13 meters. It supplies water to around 289.4 jeongbos (unit) of farmland and was one of the 3 major reservoirs of the Samhan Era along with Byeokgolje of Gimje and Susanje of Miryang. With a water gate built of onggi (earthenware), Uirimji is also a valuable historical site for studying farming methods.

The reservoir is one of the main tourist attractions of Jecheon. Attractions around the reservoir include Yeonghojeong Pavilion (erected in 1807 in the 7th year of King Sunjo) and Gyeonghoru Pavilion (built in 1948). The traditional beauty of the structures is accented by the neighboring ancient pine and willow trees and the 30 meter-high waterfall. Nearby attractions include the Pine Field Park, National Archery Field, and Parkland.

Among the local specialties of the region are Gongeo fish which can only be seen during the spawning season that takes place during early spring. Enjoyed only for a short time each year, the fish is largely popular among tourists visiting the area.

Useful Informations

  • Address: 33, Uirimji-ro, Jecheon-si, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 제천시 의림지로 33
  • Phone: +82-43-651-7101

How to get here:
By [Train + Bus]
From Jecheon Station, take Bus No. 541, 3-2, or 3-1 and get off at Uirimji Bus Stop.

Ondal Gwangwangji

Image by JHL through Trip Advisor

Ondal Tourist Park features many attractions and facilities, including an exhibition hall, fortress, and cave, all designed around the legendary love story of General Ondal and Princess Pyeonggang. The open film site has been used for historical dramas such as “Yeon Gaesomun (2006),” “The Legend (2007),” and “Empress Cheonchu (2009).”

Useful Informations

  • Operating Hours
    09:00-17:00
    Summer Peak Season 09:00-18:00
  • Admission Fees
    Individuals – Adults 5,000 won / Teenagers 3,500 won / Children 2,500 won / Seniors 1,500 won
    Groups – Adults 4,000 won / Teenagers 2,500 won / Children 1,500 won / Seniors 1,000 won
  • Address: 23, Ondal-ro, Yeongchun-myeon, Danyang-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
  • Phone: +82-43-421-2555
  • Homepage: tour.dy21.net

How to get here:
By [Bus]
Take a bus from Dong Seoul Bus Terminal to Guinsa.

Danyang Mancheonha Skywalk

Image by Kocis

The Mancheonha Skywalk was opened in July 2017, offers some absolutely stunning views of the flowing rivers. Visitors can walk up and come to the observator. Then visitors can walk out unto three glass bottomed walkways.

Useful Informations

  • Opening Hours
    Summer: 9:00am ~ 6:00pm; Winter: 10:00am ~ 5:00pm
  • Fee: 2.000 won
  • Address: 94 Aegok-ri Jeokseong-myeon Danyang-gun (충북 단양군 적성면 애곡리 94)
  • Phone: +82-43-422-1146
  • Homepage: www.danyang.go.kr

How to get here:
By [Taxi]
* Dodamsambong Peaks & Seongmun Natural Arch – Approx 5 min from Danyang Intercity Bus Terminal.
* Gudambong & Oksunbong Peaks – Approx. 30 min from Danyang Intercity Bus Terminal.
* Sangseonam, Jungseonam & Haseonam Rocks – Approx. 30 min from Danyang Intercity Bus Terminal.
* Sainam Rock – Approx. 20 min from Danyang Intercity Bus Terminal.

Old Sanmaki Trail

Image by KTO

The Sanmagi-yetgil Trail is a 4 kilometer-long old path connecting Saorang Village to the mountain village Sanmaki. Restored by retracing the old path, Sanmagi-yetgil is a great walking trail passing by mountains, streams, and forests. Most of the path is outfitted with a wooden deck in a eco-friendly method to minimize damages to the environment and to maintain the natural look. The surrounding beauty is recognized as the best scenic view of Goesan. The natural ecosystem around Goesan Dam has been preserved in its original state.

Useful Informations

  • Address: 88, Sanmagiyet-gil, Goesan-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 괴산군 칠성면 산막이옛길 88
  • Phone: +82-43-832-3527
  • Tourism Course
    * Course 1: 4.4 km (approx. 3 hrs)
    Norusaem Spring (900 m) → Deungjanbong Peak (1.1 km) → Hanbando (Korean Peninsula) Observatory (900 m) → Cheonjangbong Peak (2.2 km) → Sanmagi Village

    * Course 2: 2.9 km (approx. 2 hrs)
    Norusaem Spring (900 m) → Deungjanbong Peak (1.1 km)→ Hanbando (Korean Peninsula) Observatory (900 m) → Azalea Hills

How to get here:
By [Bus]
From Dong Seoul Bus Terminal, take a bus to Goesan Bus Terminal.
From Goesan Bus Terminal, take a local bus bound for Sujeon and get off at Oesa-ri Bus Stop.

Eight Scenic Views Of Danyang

Image by Mayo Korea

The Eight Scenic Views of Danyang are known as the most beautiful places in Danyang, and include Dodamsambong Peaks and Seongmun Natural Arch by the Namhangang River, Gudambong Peak and Oksunbong Peak offering outstanding views of Chungjuho Lake, Sangseonam Rock, Jungseonam Rock, and Haseonam Rock in Seonamgyegok Valley, and Sainam Rock in Unseongugok Valley. Theses areas were visited many times by numerous scholars during the Joseon dynasty and contain many historically and culturally important relics.

Useful Informations

  • Address: Danseong-myeon, Danyang-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 단양군 단성면
  • Phone: +82-43-422-1146
  • Homepage: www.danyang.go.kr

How to get here:
By [Taxi]
* Dodamsambong Peaks & Seongmun Natural Arch – Approx 5 min from Danyang Intercity Bus Terminal.
* Gudambong & Oksunbong Peaks – Approx. 30 min from Danyang Intercity Bus Terminal.
* Sangseonam, Jungseonam & Haseonam Rocks – Approx. 30 min from Danyang Intercity Bus Terminal.
* Sainam Rock – Approx. 20 min from Danyang Intercity Bus Terminal.

Danuri Aquarium

Image hyolee2 through Wikimedia Commons

Located in Danyang, Danuri Aquarium houses a lot of fish with a wide array of fish species from Korea and overseas countries, consisting of 13,000 fish of 83 species and 2,000 fish of 62 species, respectively. Visitors can enjoy a wide selection of fish including Siniperca, a traditional fish from Namhangang River, sweetfish and Korean bitterling, as well as various fish species from other countries all in one spot. Also, the aquarium offers a special sightseeing point, in the form of a fish tank decorated with the theme of Eight Scenic Views of Danyang.

* Fish tanks: 127 exhibition tanks, 43 habituating tanks, approx. 915 tons
* Display state: 145 species from domestic and overseas countries, 15,000 fish (83 from Korea (approx. 13,000 fish) / 62 from overseas countries (approx. 2,000 fish)

Useful Informations

  • Operating Hours
    09:00-18:00, Closed Every Monday
  • Admission / Participation Fees
    Individuals: Adults 10,000 won / Teenagers 7,000 won / Children, Seniors 6,000 won

    Groups: Adults 8,000 won / Teenagers 5,000 won / Children, Seniors 4,000 won

  • Address: 111, Subyeon-ro, Danyang-eup, Danyang-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 단양군 단양읍 수변로 111
  • Phone: +82-43-421-2555
  • Homepage: www.danyang.go.kr

How to get here:
By [Bus]
From Dong Seoul Bus Terminal to Danyang Intercity Bus Terminal, take an intercity bus.
Walk 93m to reach the aquarium from the bus terminal.

[Train]
From Cheongnyangni Station to Danyang Station (Saemaeul Line / Mugunghwa Line)

Aqua World

Image by Destimap

Opened in July 2003, Sono Belle Danyang Aqua World is an indoor water park supplying clean heated water. With numerous hot springs and amusement facilities that are open year round, it is the perfect vacation spot for families, couples and friends.

Sono Belle Danyang Aqua World has a unique Mediterranean-style interior design. The two main features of the Aqua World are the Aqua Health Pool Zone and Amusement Zone. The Aqua Health Pool Zone contains three main sections: the Neck Shower, where you can massage your neck, shoulders and legs by the pressure of running water and the Bench Jet where you can massage your waist and legs. In the Floating area you can massage all parts of your body by the pressure of water bubbles.

Among the amusement facilities in the Amusement Zone, you can enjoy the Water Slide, a massage corner exclusively for women and even the Couple Bath for those wanting romance. Take advantage of the numerous therapeutic springs including sulfur spring, mineral water spring, pine-tree spring and fruit-extract spring.

Useful Informations

  • Address: 187-17, Sambong-ro, Danyang-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 단양군 단양읍 삼봉로 187-17
  • Phone: +82-1588-4888
  • Homepage: www.daemyungresort.com

How to get here:
By [Taxi]
Approx. 5 min from Danyang Bus Terminal

Guinsa Temple

Image by Korea Bridge

Guinsa Temple, located below Yeonhwabong Peak of Sobaeksan Mountain, is the headquarters of the Cheontae Order of Korean Buddhism and now presides over 140 temples across the nation. Standing on a lot measuring a total of 15,014 square meters, the temple has an impressive, 5-story main sanctuary as well as over 50 chambers and is bordered by modern buildings that can accommodate up to 10,000 visitors.

The temple was established by Monk Sangwol Wongak, who first created a small cottage of arrowroot vine at the site as a place to practice asceticism. After receiving revelation about the truths of the universe, the monk created Guinsa Temple in the spirit of celebration. Completed in 1945, the temple was renovated in 1966 using a concrete frame, which was a very unique and modern construction practice at the time.

Must-see parts of the temple include Deabeopdang Hall (the main sanctuary) and Beopeobi Monument (a Buddhist sermon monument). The 5-story Daebeopdang Hall (est. April 29, 1980) is the largest Buddhist sanctuary in the nation and can seat up to 5,000 people. Beopeobi (full name: Beopeobi of Great Monk Sangwol) is a stone monument engraved with the teachings of the Great Monk Sangwol. The writings on the monument reflect the beliefs of the Tripitaka Koreana, one of the foundational texts of Buddhism.

Useful Informations

  • Address: 73, Guinsa-gil, Yeongchun-myeon, Danyang-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 단양군 영춘면 구인사길 73 (영춘면)
  • Phone: +82-43-423-7100
  • Homepage: www.templestay.com

How to get here:
By [Bus]
From Dong Seoul Bus Terminal, take an intercity bus to Guinsa Temple.

Beopjusa Temple

Image by MeganYoungmee through Wikitravel

Built in 553 during the 14th year of Silla King Jin-Heung’s reign, Beopjusa Temple is located on Songnisan Mountain. However, many of the original buildings were destroyed during the Imjin War (1592-1598), with the current structures having been rebuilt in 1624. The temple features many beautiful and important Buddhist relics and artworks, centered around the main hall, Daeungbojeon Hall.

Useful Informations

  • Admission Fees
    Individuals – Adults 4,000 won / Teenagers 2,000 won / Children 1,000 won
    Groups – Adults 3,700 won / Teenagers 1,600 won / Children 800 won
  • Address: 405, Beopjusa-ro, Boeun-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
    충청북도 보은군 속리산면 법주사로 405
  • Phone: +82-43-543-3615
  • Homepage: www.beopjusa.or.kr 

How to get here:
By [Bus]
Take a bus to Songnisan Bus Terminal.
Approx. 10 min walk to the temple.

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram to never miss our exciting, latest, hottest content about Korea Travel, Culture, and Lifestyle.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp